‘What we do’
The Falls Cafe
Take away or have in espresso coffee. Casual daytime dining w fresh cooked food & gourmet counter cakes, scones & muffins along with our great espresso – many different areas for you or a group to sit & enjoy the park settings
Cafe opens early for commuter and business and stays open well into the afternoon. It’s a prime corner spot with plenty of parking, and the spacious outdoor courtyard catches all-day sun. This cheerful cafe is a fantastic place for weekday breakfast, a leisurely weekend brunch, informal meetings – and great coffee any time.
- Courtyard seating (outside w umbrellas & canopy) which offers counter service
- Conservatory (inside) which offers table or counter service.
The beautiful, light Conservatory room runs alongside the immaculately restored 1850s Historic Building, with big windows on three sides and French doors opening out onto a beautiful park and native bush, home to the Tui and fantail
Booking is recommended for groups however not essential for casual dining
Restaurant table evening service of
- A la carte dinner
- Bar service
- Michael’s room – intimate dining
- McLeod’s room – intimate dining
- Conservatory – casual dining
Dinner service offered is full table service
We specialise in group bookings and functions, visit our set menu’s page
Bookings are recommended for Dinner
The Falls Functions: Set Menus, Groups, Events, am, pm 7 days
- Norcross Boardroom – seats 12
- Conservatory – seats 60, stands 100
- Conservatory & Catherine room combined – seats 90, stands 120
- Michael’s room – seats 20, stands 40
- McLeod’s room – seats 30, stands 50
At The Falls, we specialise in intimate functions from 10 – 60 guests (seated). We can cater events such as a business workshop which moves into a lunch or dinner afterwards, or a quick professional lunch that has a turnaround time of 20 minutes for mains of 55 guests (pre-order) and guests can be in and out in 1.5 hours.
We have also catered for pre-ball nibbles, graduation dinners, product launches such as winemaker’s dinners or dinners for supplier companies to existing customers with a power point presentation performed on our 65 inch smart interactive television.
Our function booking enables guests to have events at any time and with a fully stocked bar, we provide excellent bar service to complement your dining experience.
Our set and business menu’s are designed to deliver smart and efficient service without quality compromise.
Please visit our functions tab
Fresh, produce driven menu’s
The breakfast and bistro lunch menus are created around quality ingredients with an emphasis on freshness and flavour. There’s a range of freshly baked counter cakes and scones
Our dinner menu is created with the philosophy of good hearty meals plated with flare. Top grade cuts of meats & delicious entrées & desserts to compliment any main meal.
Fully stocked bar & espresso
Extensive bar with espresso, tea’s, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverage range, cocktail menu along w cellar wine selection
The outdoor courtyard enhances the beautiful heritage building and grounds, giving even greater space to indulge your senses as you enjoy beautiful cuisine, top-notch barista coffee and brunch or lunch.
With multiple rooms catering to the needs of any sized group the Falls Restaurant is perfect for functions and special occasions. The casual restaurant or cafe dining areas are also perfect for a meal with family, friends, and work colleagues.
The Falls is located within a heritage building (1870′s), and boasts a large light-filled functionroom with windows overlooking a lush green scenery. Several wood-interior rooms feature the warmth of an inviting fireplace, and the seated brick courtyard leading out to meticulously maintained lawns, make for the perfect alfresco dining experience.
The Falls Restaurant has achieved the NZ Beef and Lamb Hallmark of Excellence many times and was awarded the Gold Plate again for 2015. While still serving up the delicious classics, the creative staff have added some tantalising dishes to the menu, taking the dining experience to a whole new level.
The Falls Hotel is a two story Kauri building built in 1854 by “Long John” McLeod, a mill manager for Thomas Henderson (the founder of Henderson). It was originally built on the corner of, what is now known as Rail Side Avenue and The Great North Road, and was constructed to provide accommodation for the workers at Henderson Mill.
According to historians, the original Hotel had 22 rooms, a small general store, and handled the local mail. The first hotel manager was John McLeod although it is not known if this is the same John McLeod who built the building.
The name of the building has changed numerous times over the years. In 1873 it was known as McLeod’s Hotel. In 1874 the name changed to Aritui Hotel and then 5 years later it became the Oratia Hotel. These name changes are thought to have occurred whenever a new manager was in charge and a new license was needed. In the 1880’s it was renamed Falls Hotel, probably because of it close proximity to the Waitakere Falls. The Waitakere Falls were the most spectacular falls in the ranges until the reservoir dam was built which slowed the falls to a trickle. Again the name changed in 1925 to the Central Boarding House and in 1931 it changed to Central Private Hotel but was used as boarding house for the next 30 years.
During this time Steve Ozich was the owner responsible for many of the improvements to the building. He added bathrooms to the rear; two extra doorways to the verandas on both levels and also added the veranda screens. He was the unfortunate owner when fire struck.
While the fire, caused by a plumber’s blowtorch, affected some loss, it was water damage from the fire rescue efforts that ultimately ruined the entire interior. Steve Ozich was forced to start renovations all over again. Ozich continued to stay at the Hotel until 1991 even after he sold it to the Norcross Family, in 1978.
The Norcross Family have run businesses in Henderson for over 75 years. They kindly gifted the building to the community in 1996. Bob Harvey, the mayor of Waitakere City at the time, authorised moving the building to its current resting place in December of 1996.
In 1997 Henry Norcross was appointed the chairman of the Reconstituted Falls Hotel Preservation Trust and proceeded to complete its restoration. Restoration was quickly completed and the Falls Hotel was opened for business on June 22nd 1998, with the Mayor of Waitakere City officially re-opening the building on July 25th.
For over 150 years The Falls Hotel has been an integral part of the community’s past. It is acclaimed as one of the oldest (if not the oldest) buildings in Henderson.